15 Great Poems That Stand Out

Summertime seems like the perfect time to enjoy some poetry. In summer people tend to be a little different…. More able to Hear & Receive. Maybe it’s the stillness of life, the slowing down to relax, sipping lemonade and just being. Poetry has a ring of music to it and produces a wide range of emotions with few words and for me… the ring of truth. This made me put together a list for great poems that I have enjoyed over the years.

So….here’s my 2 cents on great poems that stand out & stand the test of time.

1. The Road Less Traveled * by Robert Frost
2. Still I Rise * by Maya Angelou
3. A Dream * by Edgar Allan Poe
4. Nothing Gold Can Stay * by Robert Frost
5. Where the Sidewalk Ends * by Shel Silverstein
6. Wild Nights! Wild Nights! * by Emily Dickinson
7. Evening Star * by Edgar Allan Poe
8. To The Garden The World * by Walt Whitman
9. On the Grasshopper and Cricket * by John Keats
10. The Spider holds a Silver Ball * by Emily Dickinson
11. Silence Sings * by Thomas S. Moore
12. The Vanguard * by Lord Byron
13. The What Ifs * by Dini Petty
14. I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings * by Maya Angelou
15. One Day My Soul Just Opened Up * by Iyanla Vanzant

What poems stand out for you?

Are you reading & experience your truth yet?

Until next time…Make each day count!

Be Poetry,
Nicole

Explore posts in the same categories: Allowing, Authors, Books, Children, De-stress, Heres My 2 Cents, Nicole Rousselle, Non-fiction, Reading, Reduce Stress, Uncategorized

2 Comments on “15 Great Poems That Stand Out”


  1. Ever here of Walt Whitman? He does a lot of freeverse stuff, I can actually relate to him a lot, our styles are so similar. Anything I write stands out to me, because I can understand it all the way. My favorites above are 1, 3, 4, and 11.

    • Nicole Rousselle Says:

      Thanks for the comment TLG 🙂
      Yes…Walt is on my list…agreed that he is a great free styler poet.


Leave a comment