When To Let Go

This week has given me many things to contemplate & maul over the idea of letting go. When do you know that it is time to let go of your child & let them fly out on their own. When is it time for the parent to move out of the way and let their child do what they feel they must do in their heart. When do you let them go to either reach for the stars or fall to the earth once again? These are answers that can truly be answered fully by a case-by-case situation, with careful consideration & a fully in-check ego.

So…this week I become the student and learn what I need to about when to let go.

TO LET GO

To let Go…Doesn’t mean to stop caring,
it means I can’t do it for someone else.
It’s not to cut myself off,
It’s the realization that I can’t control another.

To Let Go….Is not to enable,
but to allow learning from natural consequences.
Is to admit powerlessness,
which means the outcome is not in my hands.

To Let Go….Is not to try to change or blame another,
I can only change myself.
Is not to care for,
but to care about.

To let Go….Is not to fix,
but to be supportive.
Is not to judge,
but to allow another to be a human being.

To let Go….Is not to be in the middle arranging all the outcome,
but to allow others to effect their own outcomes.
Is not to be protective,
it is to permit another to face reality.

To Let Go….Is not to deny, but to accept.
Is not to nag, scold, or argue,
but to search out my own
shortcomings and to correct them.

To Let Go….Is not to adjust everything to my desires,
but to take each day as it comes,
and to cherish the moment.
Is not to criticize or regulate anyone,
but to try to become whatever dream I can be.

To Let Go….Is not to regret the past,
but to grow and live for the future.
Is to fear less and to love more.
And I do “LOVE YOU”
So I will…”LET YOU GO”…

~~ Author unknown~~

What or who do you need to let go of?

Until next time… Make each day count!

Be Learning,
Nicole

Explore posts in the same categories: Allowing, Children, Heres My 2 Cents, Life's Leasons, Nicole Rousselle, Parenthood, Uncategorized

One Comment on “When To Let Go”


  1. Very inspiring post! It felt so sad to accept that after taking care of our kids we should let them go. Sometimes letting go doesn’t mean that we don’t care about them anymore but it means we love them and we want them to grow and be a better person by learning from their experiences.


Leave a Reply

