How Yoga & Birthing Labor Are Similar

Yoga Tree Pose

I have recently taken up yoga practice. I am learning many new and wonderful things about my mind, my body and how both need to be in alignment for me to get the most out of my yoga practice. As a mother of 2 children (ok…so they are teenagers now) I see the similarities between yoga practice and birthing labor. Naturally this got me thinking…so I have composed this list of similar qualities that I found…well profound.

So… here’s my 2 cents on how yoga and labor are similar.

1. Breathe in…Breathe out…Breathe in…Breathe out…Breathe in…Breathe out
2. You are able to overcome the uncomfortable feeling when you use full slow breathing
3. Focus on the now…Where are you right now…experience this place of Now
4. The body is capable of much and knows how to do what is made to do
5. Relax into the difficult postures and through your breathe you can relax deeper
6. Abandon the need to control How your body should move and let your body just do the work
7. Know that all your are going through…others have also gone through
8. There is no way out except THROUGH the uncomfortable places…This too shall pass
9. Let your body guide you…Your body KNOWS when it’s time to push past the pain
10. Through hard work and preparation…you can birth a new creation…all is new
11. Experience the feelings of joy when you discover you can do more than you first thought you could
12. Experience the elation of knowing that you have gone through in this process and all of it has made you become a more complete being…You are now one with the universe

What have you created recently?

How has this changed your life?

Send me an Email sharing this new creation with me at: Nicole.2cents@gmail.com
Until next time… Make each day count!

Be Creating,
Nicole

Explore posts in the same categories: Authenticity, Gifts, Heres My 2 Cents, Labor, Life's Leasons, Nicole Rousselle, Reduce Stress, Uncategorized, Yoga

Leave a Reply

